Wow, its been close to a month since the last post, and here I was telling myself at New Years I would try to get at least 1 post out every two weeks. Then again I had also hoped to develop my companies new website by the end of January and now, some 400 sub pages later I am about two-thirds of the way there! At any rate between real life and wow things have been busy, but I have had time to run around doing some experimenting with other classes which has kind of alarmed me.

You see I raid as resto. I was sorta forced into it back when I ht level cap in TBC and grew to love it from there. Outside dungeons and raids though its Moonkin form and for the general mobs out and about it has always sufficed, I have never had a worry attacking a mob and then being overly concerned when another appears to gank me.

Enter the Cataclysm and there I am first day fighting in Hyjal and I accidently aggro a second Worgen and proceed to have my face eaten. Now this could be attributed to the fact (possibly) that I don’t gear for dps, but even so  I’ve just left Northrend where close to a dozen mobs could attack me at once (while in Resto gear) and I could fend them off, and now 2 mobs the same level in a different zone are eating my face. So maybe Blizzard have tweaked the difficulty.  Now that I am 85 and still running round killing mobs in resto gear I still can’t take on 3 mobs in Tol Barad at a time, and have trouble with 2. Even our guilds leading Moonkin dps hates being attacked by more than 1 mob at a time. How the mighty have fallen, from slayers of armies to murderers of individuals.

Needing a break I slipped onto my Goblin priest the other day .. a class I have always had trouble levelling because I found the playstyle aweful and how quickly they oomed rather degenerate. At level 13 I was trying to gather up a few flight points and running through Silverpine when I was attacked by not 1, bt 3 level 17 Mobs .. I was terrified. But with the limited spells at hand my level 13 priest managed to kill all three of these nasty mobs, as well as a fourth that wondered in during the fight .. and had enough mana left over to heal herself at the end of it and not be worried about a second wave of attackers.

Now seriously .. what gives! My druid has fought his way across all three continents in Azeroth as well as Outland, has killed animals, humanoids, demons and undead by the score. Has personally helped with the downfall of Illida, Arthas and two Old Gods .. yet when he is alone he can barely handle 2 or 3 ghostly spirits, while my little goblin barely out of diapers can handle 4 (or possibly more) mobs without breaking a sweat. Isn’t this a little backwards? After all the druid is the one who has the experience he should be able to take on more, the priest is starting out things should present more of a threat.

I can understand Blizzard no longer wanting us to be able to do what we were at the end of Wrath and taking on a dozen or so more targets. Yes, yigher level toons need a challenge,  but it feels wrong that the more experienced character should feel weaker than the fresh low-level toon.  Hopefully something can be done to fix this, but I don’t think it is anywhere on their priority list.

