So Zul’Gurub and Zul’Amman look to be making a comeback in 4.1, which I think is great. Not everyone may agree, but for me these two raids were always two of my favourites, if only in look or feel. I am not sure if I like that they are coming back as 5 man heroics rather then 10 man raids but (and I stress this) the Troll Dungeons and raids have always been my favourite. I will admit point blank that I am incredibly dissapointed that we didn’t have a Gundrak Raid instead of that ToC travesty in Wrath.

It turns out that they are also bringing new models back to replace the old raptor, bear and tiger mounts so that the old ones will still be “special snowflakes”. I have the Tiger, and although frankly I wouldn’t have cared if they brought it back for others I can’t say I am dissapointed in having the chance to add extra mounts to my growing collection!

I do sort of wonder how they are going to tie these into the current world though .. I mean we have explanations for the updated Shadowfang Keep and Deadmines but how will these two tie up? I haven’t been to Ferales much lately but I am pretty sure the original quest chain that had you ‘loose’ Hakkar is gone, so I wonder how they will bring back this boss for a 3rd time!(OK he is supposedly a God but 3 lives is pushing it.)

As for Zul’Amman I really hope they do something special with the storyline there I always felt it was .. lacking in the original release. Hands down Zul’jin is one of the greatest Old Horde Heroes around, every one of his contemporaries is already dead, being killed or missing. So I hope something great occurs, I mean so far the survival rate and of Alliance Heroes of the same time is much higher, and to date Blizzard hasn’t started killing them off as dungeon bosses! Anyway I digress.

The fact is that both of these are coming back and I really hope they do as much to bolster the storyline of both as they can. Just looking (for example) of the Questlines of Thousand Needles and of Burning Steppes I hope that the return of these 2 dungeons will leave me as happy from a lore point of view as these two zones new questlines did.

So here is hoping that the Griftah is the real Zul’jin and he is finally striking back at the imposters!

PS: For those wondering here is a list of “notables” from the WC2 Era & their status. Old Alliance: Alive: Danath Trollbane, Khadgar, Kurdran Wildhammer Dead: Anduin Lothar, Uther Lightbringer Missing: Turalyon,Alleria Windrunner. Old Horde: Alive: Cho’Gall & Deathwing. Dead: Grom Hellscream, Kargath Bladefist, Zul’jin (or is he if he is coming back in 4.1?), Gul’dan, Dentarg,Teron Gorefiend. Others: Of other notables at the time (but not units from the game, at least that I can recall) Genn Greymane is still kicking, Teranas Menethil and Ogrim Doomhammer are Dead and Kilrogg Deadeye is MIA.

