This is just a short post. I was going to go into a lot of depth but in the end figured I could just as clearly state what was on my mind in 4 paragraphs as I could twenty, so here is to light reading!

So far Patch 4.3 looks pretty good, though there is one thing that bugs me .. and that is the ability to oust a Guild Leader if he has been absent 30 days.

Now I will be honest I didn’t make the guild I run, and while I always joke that that was a coup and we replaced the old leader with a much more tyran.. genial leader, the truth is that the old leader wasn’t interested in stickin around, promoted me and went on his way. Which is fine and how in a well run world sucession should occur.

I also realise that there are guilds who have absentee guild leader who don’t show up in months or don’t do too much. The upcoming ability to replace an absentee leader is good, if you have a leader who simply doesn’t play he (or she) needs replacing. The system doesn’t allow for replacing Guild Leaders who need removal for other reasons, and I don’t think we will ever see that come into play (unless they introduce an annual ballot or something :), which I fervently hope they don’t I enjoy my despotic rule).

No I like the idea of being able to replace a GM if needed and forge ahead. My biggest peeve with the new ability is the time frame. 30 Days. Seriously. 30 Days. 30 Days is nothing. I’m not sure what Holidays are like in America but if your average Australian takes off all his years holidays in 1 hit then there are your 30 days all used up! Well 28 anyway. So if someones taking an extended trip, gets hospitalised by accident, moves home or whatever that causes a break of over 30 days .. they can lose their guild.

To me, I think 30 days is not long enough. If a guild can’t survive without 1 member for 30 days, no matter who the member is, then the guild has problems, and replacing that 1 member isn’t likely to help. Yes, absentee guild leaders should be replacable, no, they shouldn’t be replaced after what isn’t even a minimal time away.

So I would say fine, keep in the new method of replacing a Guild Leader, but be reasonable and raise the bar a bit. I would say 45 maybe 60 days would be better, and I hope that Blizzard are listening to some of the other objections I have seen out there and take some action on it.

