How many of you have local markets where you are from? You know where you get a few people selling homegrown produce, a lot of people selling second hand items .. treasure or junk your call, and even a few small retailers trying to get their name out there.

Well I do, not only 1 for the local area but theres close to a dozen within an hours drive that I could trawl through over the course of a week. In general, I do not visit them but on occassion on a Sunday I do enjoy a wander amongst the bustling market stalls, haggling with the people doing the selling and in some cases even eagerly scooping up rare items (for instance the entire Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser Series by Fritz Leiber for 5 bucks .. woohoo), and just enjoying the atmosphere on a nice day.

 

You get the idea? The image percolating away in your mind .. well take a look at this thread on the MoP Beta forums by Pallydisk of Madoran , he starts off asking:

I have been wandering around Mists beta in game and I noticed that in a lot of the little towns in  Mists (the Half Hill market) they have NPC’s with little carts next to them selling goods which got me thinking, “Why can’t Players have those?”

Then goes on to explain his thoughts and reasons behind wanting them. Now some of you may recall one of my earliest posts where I asked for a pack kodo or mule because carting around 6 bags wasn’t very realistic for a hero. I tell you what though, this market stall is a fantastic idea.

Picture that local market I was talking about .. now picture a Sunday morning in WoW and you venture down to Bloodhoof Village (maybe Kharanos if your Alliance) and the town is swamped with all these tiny carts with people selling items, crafting and enchanting gear, and more browsing around.

Imagine the possibilities .. “Oooh Troggi you have X-Ore for sale nice, but Wombs over there is selling it at so much less .. what can you offer me to make it worth my while buying from you?”. The sort of on the spot trading, bidding and haggling one doesn’t see on the Auction House, and if we are lucky it will actually contain more trade then trade chat and we can finally be done with that evil. You could actually develop a real market feel, while it would be small on some realms I would imagine that on others it would leave a place like Istanbul’s Grand Bazaar wanting. You’d have your regular fishmongers, miners, cloth merchants all at each others throats trying to outsell each other on the spot rather then via the AH.

Doubt it will happen but it has my stamp of approval!

